Schieffer School Hall of Excellence inductees honored on Oct. 12

Fort Worth, TX


Last week, TCU's Schieffer School of Journalism inducted into its Hall of Excellence a retired chair of TCU Journalism and an alumnus who is a leading innovative editor in the mass media.

Dr. Douglas Ann Newsom, professor emeritus in the School of Journalism, and Steve Buttry, recently appointed director of community engagement for TBD, a Washington, D.C. - based internet and cable news operation, were honored and presented with the Hall of Excellence award at a dinner held on Oct. 12 at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth.

Also announced was approval by the national PRSA organization to name the TCU chapter of PRSSA after Dr. Newsom. This action was based on a recommendation from Dr. Amiso George and the local chapter.

"What a grand event! I'm still feeling overwhelmed by everything," said Dr. Newsom.

The highlights of the night were a personal video message from Bob Schieffer and a video tribute.

Buttry remarked about how he has reconnected with TCU and how the induction will be the most meaningful recognition in his career unless there is a future Pulitzer Prize for tweeting.

“We were very proud this year to recognize two such outstanding recipients," said John Lumpkin, director of the Schieffer School. "Dr. Newsom has the distinction of being the longest serving faculty member in the more than 80-year history of the Journalism School. Steve Buttry, a 1976 graduate of TCU, was recognized this year by Editor & Publisher magazine as 'Editor of the Year' for his newsroom management in crisis situations, innovation and dedication to journalism ethics."

Dr. Newsom holds two bachelor’s degrees, a master’s degree and a doctorate from the University of Texas at Austin. During her tenure as the Journalism Department chairperson, she was also elected as the second female president of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, the national organization for educators and administrators in higher education. A specialist in the field of public relations and strategic communication, she is a fellow of the Public Relations Society of America, the higher designation that is offered by that organization.

Dr. Newsom is co-author of “This is PR: The Realities of Public Relations” going into its 11th edition. She is also co-author of “Public Relations Form & Style,” which is in its ninth Edition. She has taught in eight countries, including Fulbright appointments in India and Singapore. She also co-founded the first integrated advertising and public relations program in American higher education.

Buttry was a two-term editor of the TCU student newspaper, The Daily Skiff. He started his professional journalism career at an early age. During his senior year in high school, he was a paid professional sports writer for The Evening Sentinel in Shenandoah, Iowa. Following graduation from TCU, his professional path has been consistently increasing with responsibility and achievement, highlighted by successful innovative news and editorial management projects nationally recognized by the journalism and publishing industry.

Prior to his appointment at TBD, Buttry was editor of The Cedar Rapids Gazette and it online version. Two days after becoming editor, Cedar Rapids was hit by the worst natural disaster in Iowa history: the overwhelming flood of 2008. Despite the Gazette building having total loss of power, the newspaper never missed an edition. Recognizing this performance, the Society of Professional Journalists presented Buttry and his staff with the annual Sigma Delta Chi award for Deadline Reporting.

Buttry has pursued his journalism career in 43 states, eight Canadian provinces and in eight foreign countries, plus teaching journalists and media executives in more than 300 newsrooms, including teaching at seminars, webinars, conferences and universities. He also serves as a consultant for the TCU Center for Community Journalism.

Prior to Dr. Newsom and Buttry’s induction, the Hall of Excellence had 15 members, including the founding chair of the TCU journalism program, J. Willard Ridings. The journalism school’s namesake, Bob Schieffer, and legendary sports writer Dan Jenkins are also among past inductees.

The Schieffer School of Journalism is one of the oldest journalism programs among private institutions in the nation and was the first journalism program at a private university to be accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications.